In addition to facing an electorate prone to split-ticket voting, Montana Republican U.S. Representative Denny Rehberg faced another historical hurdle in his attempt to unseat Democratic U.S. Senator Jon Tester earlier this month. With Rehberg’s loss, just 3 of 18 at-large U.S. House members have ousted incumbents in U.S. Senate races since the implementation of direct elections a century ago. And none of these three victorious at-large U.S. Representatives were GOPers. Democrats Carl Hayden (Arizona, 1926), Tom Daschle (South Dakota, 1986), and Tim Johnson (South Dakota, 1996) are the lone at-large U.S. House members to pull off this feat.

Leave a Comment