If Wisconsin Republican Congressman Jim Sensenbrenner is reelected as expected to his 5th CD seat in 2016 he will become just the second Badger State U.S. Representative to win a 20th term to the chamber in state history. Sensenbrenner would join Democrat Dave Obey, who served 21 terms from Wisconsin’s 7th CD from April 1969 to January 2011. When Sensenbrenner won his 19th term last November he broke a tie for second place with Republican Henry Cooper and Tom Petri who each had 18 electoral victories to the U.S. House. Fifteen other Wisconsinites have won at least 10 terms to the chamber: Democrats John Zablocki (17), Robert Kastenmeier (16), Henry Reuss (14), Les Aspin (12), John Kleczka (11), and current 3rd CD Representative Ron Kind (10) and Republicans Alvin O’Konski (15), John Byrnes (14), John Nelson (13), John Esch (11), James Frear (11), Merlin Hull (11), Glenn Davis (10), William Stafford (10), and Gardner Withrow (10). Hull and Withrow served part of the stint in Congress as Progressives while Cooper, Nelson, Hull, and Davis all served interrupted double-digit terms.


  1. HomerJuicy on June 21, 2018 at 4:00 pm

    I often visit your website and have noticed that you don’t update it often. More frequent updates will give your site higher rank & authority in google.

    I know that writing articles takes a lot of time, but you can always help
    yourself with miftolo’s tools which will shorten the time of creating an article to a couple of seconds.

Leave a Comment