While perhaps lacking an A-list contender, Iowa Democrats are not short of candidates for governor in 2018 with nine men and women officially in the race or exploring a bid. If the eventual Democratic nominee picks up the seat, he or she will become the fourth member of the party to win a gubernatorial election in the state while both U.S. Senate seats are held by Republicans (Chuck Grassley and Joni Ernst). Attorney Horace Boies (1890-1894) was the first, winning two razor-thin victories while GOPers William Allison and James Wilson served in D.C. Former Ottumwa mayor Herschel Loveless (1957-1961) was the second, elected twice while Bourke Hickenlooper and Thomas Martin represented the state in the U.S. Senate. State Commerce Commissioner Harold Hughes (1963-1969) was the last to do so, winning three elections with Hickenlooper and Jack Miller serving in the nation’s upper legislative chamber. Only seven Democrats have been elected governor in Iowa since the formation of the Republican Party in 1854.

Leave a Comment